Health Disparities Committee (HDC) (Special Populations)



Vice Chair(s)

Evan Graboyes, MD, MPH

Working Groups

    Special Interest Groups

    Concept Development
    Leader: Evan Graboyes
    Co-Lead: Noël Arring, DNP, PhD, RN

    Older Adult Research
    Leader: William Tew

    Research Implementation (Education/Training/Mentorship)
    Leader: Victoria Bae-JumpVictoria Bae-Jump
    Co-Lead: Mylin Torres

    Rural Research
    Lead: Shearwood McClelland
    Co-Leader: Na Tosha Gatson

    Committee Charge

    The NRG NCORP Health Disparities Research (HDR) Committee has transformed from a core educational NRG Oncology committee into a protocol generating committee to develop interventional concepts, and to integrate secondary endpoints in NCORP trials and NRG Oncology treatment trials, all focused on health disparities research and improving cancer care and outcomes for underserved populations. HDR will have the ability to develop concepts and, most importantly, to work in close collaboration with NRG NCORP CPCR and CCDR to co-develop protocols as appropriate. The HDR is a shared committee between NRG NCORP and NRG Oncology NCTN (with co-funding). HDR will continue to build on the significant legacy and ongoing work to focus on the following areas:

    • Focus 1. Develop interventional studies to decrease health disparities among racial and ethnic minorities;
    • Focus 2. Test interventional studies for optimal care of at risk elderly; and
    • Focus 3. Identify optimal access to cancer screening, treatment, symptom management and surveillance of rural populations.

    The overarching goal of NRG HDR is to understand and address health disparities in an effort to reduce the unequal burden of cancer in the United States (U.S.). Biospecimen collection embedded in these trials will assist in generating new knowledge of genetic and molecular biomarkers associated with disparities. The HDR Committee is comprised of multidisciplinary scientists with expertise in each of the focus areas as well as behavioral health, symptom management, community engagement, and social determinants of health.

    Committee Vision Statement

    The Health Disparities Committee can leverage NRG and  NCORP networks to elevate and nurture passion for cancer equity, ensuring that  NRG Oncology trials prioritize health and cancer outcomes for all  patients, families and communities.

    NCORP Pilot Projects Funded

    HDC Pilot Concepts:
    • Breaking Down Sexual Health Barriers in Underrepresented Female Cancer Patients Receiving Pelvic Radiation Therapy (Chin)
    • Understanding How High Risk Human Papilloma Virus Serotypes Impacts Racial Disparities in Orophayrngeal Squamous Cell Carcinoma (Watts)
    • Relational Agents in HPV Vaccination (Gogoi)

    Health Equity Fellowship Program

    Health Equity Awardees (February 2023)

    Health Equity New Investigator Mentor Program for Underrepresented Minority (URM) Scholars

    Health Equity New Investigator Mentor Program for Underrepresented Minority (URM) Scholars Awardees (September 2021)


    Resources that have been recommended by members of the NRG Oncology Health Disparities Committee are available by clicking here.


    Dr. Graboyes named HDC Vice Chair Read more

    NRG Oncology Announces Leadership of New Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee, New Vice Chair for Ancillary Projects Committee

    Introductory Message from Jennifer Wenzel, PhD, MS, RN, Chair, NRG Health Disparity Committee presented during the NRG Oncology Winter 2021 meeting. Click here to view. 

    Health Disparities Meetings, Workshops and Symposia

    (login required)

    Symposium: "Aligning Clinical Trial Development with an Aging Population – Challenges and Opportunities for Older Adults with Cancer"
    When: April 16, 2024; 3-4:30pm ET
    Please register in advance for this webinar
    After registering, you will receive an email with the webinar link.

    Click here for symposium agenda
    Click here for symposium flyer

    Committee Members

    • Kevin Albuquerque
    • Noel Arring
    • Oluwole Babatunde
    • Victoria Bae-Jump
    • Parul Barry
    • Jeannine Brant
    • Anna Brown
    • Reena Cecchini
    • Kavita Dharmarajan
    • Dayssy Alexandra Diaz Pardo
    • Martha Duncan
    • Tiffany Elsea
    • Dorothy Erlanger
    • John Farley
    • Na Tosha Gatson
    • Evan Graboyes
    • Lauren Henke
    • Jordan Holmes
    • Kathie Ann Joseph
    • Nirav Kapadia
    • Jolinta Lin
    • Shearwood McClelland, III
    • Samilia Obeng-Gyasi
    • Motolani Ogunsanya Adedipe
    • Bridget Oppong
    • Electra Paskett
    • Krupal Patel
    • Sarah Tucker Price
    • Mack Roach, III
    • Nina Niu Sanford
    • Jennifer Shah
    • William Tew
    • Mylin A. Torres
    • Melissa Vyfhuis
    • Eleanor Walker
    • Jennifer Wenzel
    • Donna White
    • Mehran Yusuf
    • Abigail S. Zamorano


    Stay current with science. Sign up for our newsletter.

    Support NRG Oncology.
    Help Our Cause.

    We are a leading protocol organizations within the National Clinical Trials Network and we seek to improve the lives of cancer patients by conducting practice-changing, multi-institutional clinical and translational research. Learn More

    Donate Today

    NRG Oncology Foundation, Inc, is a nonprofit, tax-exempt foundation. Donations to NRG Oncology help us conduct this important mission, and are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.