Outstanding NRG Oncology Researcher to Receive 2021 PA Breast Cancer Coalition Potamkin Prize

August 13 2021

NRG Newsletter Article from the PA Breast Cancer Coalition

NRG Oncology Breast Cancer Researcher Sandra Swain, MD, FACP, FASCO will be awarded the 2021 Potamkin Prize as announced by NRG Oncology Patient Advocate Committee Co-Chair and President of the PA Breast Cancer Coalition Pat Halpin-Murphy. Dr. Swain is a world-renowned researcher and oncologist at Georgetown University Medical Center who currently serves as Co-Chair of the Early Breast Cancer Trialists Collaborative Group (EBCTCG) at Oxford University and as Vice Chair of the NSABP Foundation

“I cannot think of a more deserving recipient of this award than Dr. Swain,” said Halpin-Murphy. “Her accomplishments, including the groundbreaking CLEOPATRA trial on HER2 positive metastatic breast cancer, have changed the standard of breast cancer care. We are honored to welcome Dr. Swain and to learn about her latest research.”

The first recipient of the Potamkin Prize was Dr. Bernie Fisher whose discoveries transformed standard practice for breast cancer patients. Dr. Swain will receive the award Friday, October 15 during the PA Breast Cancer Coalition Virtual Conference. To hear Dr. Swain’s Opening Session presentation on HER2 positive metastatic breast cancer, visit pbcc.me/conference to register. 

Stay current with science. Sign up for our newsletter.

Support NRG Oncology.
Help Our Cause.

We are a leading protocol organizations within the National Clinical Trials Network and we seek to improve the lives of cancer patients by conducting practice-changing, multi-institutional clinical and translational research. Learn More

Donate Today

NRG Oncology Foundation, Inc, is a nonprofit, tax-exempt foundation. Donations to NRG Oncology help us conduct this important mission, and are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.